An auto accident in Mississippi should be reported to the local police department if it results in an injury to a person, the death of a person, or property damage exceeding $500. The statute of limitations for Mississippi car accidents dictates the time limit for filing a lawsuit in a Mississippi court. The Mississippi Code section 15-1-49 gives the victim three years to ask for a remedy from Mississippi’s civil court system for injuries caused due to an auto accident.
Under Mississippi civil law, any lawsuit by a passenger, driver, bicyclist, motorcyclist, or pedestrian injured as a result of an auto accident is subject to the three-year statute of limitations. The clock starts ticking from the date of the accident. You should be aware of this fact in case you are involved in an auto accident in Mississippi. This article provides information on statute limitations for Mississippi car accidents.
A wrongful death claim is also governed by the same deadline. If someone in your family or social circle is killed as a result of an auto accident, the victim’s family has three years to file a case in a court of law in Mississippi. But the only difference for a wrongful death claim is the clock will start ticking on the date of the victim’s death and not the date of the accident. It’s important that you understand the statute of limitations in Mississippi and abide by it as it applies to your specific situation. In case you try to file a case after the limitation has already passed, the defendant has the right to ask the court to dismiss your case, and the court is most likely to agree to such a request.
Most accident victims try to settle their cases by negotiating with the insurance provider. Even if you plan to settle the case through negotiations with the insurance provider, you should have enough time to file a lawsuit in case the latter becomes necessary. If you are running up against the filing deadline, it’s important that you speak to an experienced personal injury attorney in Mississippi. That’s the best way to handle your personal injury case and get the maximum settlement benefits from the other party.
How To Report A Mississippi Car Accident?
If you are involved in an auto accident, you should immediately contact the police and emergency medical staff in case of any injuries. If you are in a position to move the vehicle off the road, you should do it to prevent obstructing other vehicles. Take down the name, address, phone number, and car tag number of the other driver. Take photos of the accident scene if you are in a position to do so. Get the names, addresses, and phone numbers of any witnesses to the accident. A minor accident doesn’t require calling the police. But a written accident report should be filed with the police within ten days of the accident if there are injuries to people or property damages exceeding $250 in Mississippi. Make sure you don’t express any opinion concerning fault because others can use the statement against you in a lawsuit. Let the authorities determine the fault of the accident.
Filing A Lawsuit Against The Other Party
In case you plan to file a lawsuit against the other driver, you should hire a professional personal injury attorney in Mississippi. Hiring the right attorney is crucial to the success of your case. He or she will get you the maximum settlement benefits by negotiating with the insurance provider or through a civil lawsuit in Mississippi. The statute of limitations comes into play when filing a lawsuit in Mississippi. You should file the case 3 years from the date of the accident. Your attorney is the best person to advise what you should do after the accident.
With hundreds of injury lawyers operating in Mississippi, choosing the best lawyer isn’t easy. Your research is important when choosing the best attorney to handle your case. A personal referral from someone you trust is a great way to find the best attorney for the case. Consult a trusted and experienced personal injury attorney in Mississippi to handle your car injury lawsuit.
Mississippi Car Accidents Attorneys
If you, or someone you love, have been injured through no fault of your own anywhere in the state, you should make an appointment with a Jackson-based car accident injury attorney to discuss the possibility of filing a personal injury claim. Contact the Diaz Law Firm online or call us in Jackson MS as soon as you can at 601-607-3456.