Mississippi Personal Injury and the Recovery of Compensation

Recovering Compensation in a Mississippi Personal Injury

Recovering Compensation in a Mississippi Personal Injury

Personal injury law in Mississippi provides a legal remedy for individuals who are harmed due to the negligent, reckless or intentional actions of another person. In Mississippi, the law generally allows victims to pursue a lawsuit and seek compensation for the damages they have sustained from the responsible party. These damages can include medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, punitive damages, and more.

A Personal Injury Can Have Many Causes

To be successful in an injury claim in Mississippi it is important to demonstrate that an individual has been injured due to another’s negligence or recklessness. According to the National Safety Council, more than 200,000 preventable injuries occurred in the country in 2020. Common examples of these types of cases include the following:

  • Traffic accidents, including cars, trucks, motorcycles, bicycles and pedestrians
  • Slip and fall incidents, whether on public or private property
  • Medical malpractice errors such as wrong site surgery, prescriptions or incorrect diagnosis
  • Maritime injuries, including boat defects or employee negligence
  • Defective drugs or medical implants
  • Premises liability claims (such as dog bite injuries)
  • Product liability cases (due to faulty or dangerous products) such as Paraquat or Firefighter Foam
  • Wrongful death cases

Filing Your Claim Within the Statute of Limitations

In Mississippi, personal injury claims must be filed within a certain amount of time known as the “statute of limitations.” Typically, this period is two years from the date of the incident. If an injured person fails to file their claim before this deadline has expired, they may be unable to recover any compensation for their damages. Therefore, it is important to act quickly if you believe you have a viable case in Mississippi.

Comparative Negligence in a Claim

Furthermore, Mississippi follows the rule of modified comparative negligence when determining liability in injury cases. This means that an injured party can still recover some compensation even if they are partially responsible for their own injuries, as long as their share of fault is not greater than that of the defendant. However, their damages will be reduced by whatever percentage they are at fault. For example, if you are found to be 20 percent at fault in an accident, you may still be able to recover 80 percent of the damages.

Obtaining Legal Advice About Placing a Claim

If you have been injured due to another’s negligence in Mississippi and would like to discuss your rights and options for pursuing an injury claim, it is important to consult with an experienced attorney. A qualified lawyer can help answer any questions you may have about the process, advise you on potential avenues for recovering compensation and fight for your interests in court if necessary. 

Diaz Law Firm: Personal Injury Lawyers

The Diaz Law Firm can assist you if you suffered an injury that was caused by a negligent driver or another party. We can be reached for free advice at (601) 607-3456 or (800) 459-2222 if you need assistance. We also offer free case evaluations online. We are always ready to answer your questions regarding your potential case. Since we work on a contingency fee basis, there is no out-of-pocket expense for you.